Massachusetts Lemon Law – The Basics of This State’s Lemon Law

Customers buying new vehicles should be well informed and educated about the laws that have been framed for their welfare and well being. Many customers encounter lots of troubles with their new car, bike etc and do not have a proper guidance. Now you can stay protected from unscrupulous dealers who are trying to rob you. In this article we discuss the Massachusetts lemon law.

The Massachusetts lemon law is stated in chapter 90 section 7N under the state lemon laws. Now what are the factors which indicate that your vehicle is a lemon? The Massachusetts lemon law is applicable to any car, motorcycle or truck newly bought for family and personal use and not with the intention of doing business. If your vehicle has suffered a significant defect within the 1st year or before travelling the first 15,000 miles, whichever occurring early and cannot be repaired despite of several attempts to repair it, the laws are there to protect you. It also helps the customers whose vehicle had been in the shop for more than 15 business days within the 1st day of being bought and these days need not be consecutive. If you are the owner of a leased or used car, don’t worry! These vehicles are also covered by the Massachusetts lemon law. Some vehicles which are not covered by these laws are business vehicles, auto homes, and vehicles used for road use etc.

If you are having a lemon, you would try to have it repaired. If you turn out to be unsuccessful, you should contact the manufacturers of the vehicle stating all the problems you are facing. The manufacturer will try to have it repaired himself. But, if even he is unsuccessful, he should refund or replace your vehicle. If things do not turn out to be as stated, you can make use of the state arbitration program under the Massachusetts lemon law. Arbitrators are volunteers present to hear your case in an informal way and who seeks to give a fair ruling. State your problems in front of the arbitrators along with relevant documents showing your attempts to repair the vehicle. If the case goes your way you would be offered a relevant compensation. But if you are dissatisfied with the ruling you can move out to the civil court and file a case against the manufacturers. Make sure you hire a good lawyer who presents your case in the best possible way.

For more information on rules and rights of Massachusetts Lemon Law – visit my simple and impartial guide to Lemon laws : New Car Lemon Laws.

Watch more How to Buy a Car videos: http://www.howcast.com/videos/217921-How-to-Get-the-Best-Deal-on-a-New-Car

Federal law protects consumers stuck with a lemon. Learn how you can use it to your advantage.

Step 1: Know your rights and obligations
Know that while federal law protects you, it does not define what a lemon is. Prove your car is in fact a lemon according to your state’s laws.

Tip
Federal laws that protect car buyers are the Magnusson-Moss Act and the Uniform Commercial Code. Some states have lemon laws, while others rely on a patchwork of other laws.

Step 2: Find out your state’s laws
Find out how your state defines a lemon. Definitions might include a major auto defect not fixed after two to four attempts, or a car out of service for a specific time period or number of miles.

Step 3: Keep copies of everything
Keep copies of your purchase contract and all service orders and invoices for repairs and regular maintenance, together with all warranties and your owner’s manual.

Step 4: Take detailed notes
Take notes on all conversations with the dealer and service technicians. Record the date and time, any comments, and attempted repairs.

Step 5: Ask for TSBs
Ask the dealer for a copy of all manufacturers’ technical service bulletins on your car.

Step 6: Track repair time
Track all time your vehicle is in the shop for repairs. Note the date of each visit, the time in and out, and the reason.

Step 7: Get a lawyer
Hire a lawyer who specializes in lemon laws for your state. The initial consultation should be free.

Did You Know?
The first lemon laws were passed in 1982 in California and Connecticut. Since then every state has enacted consumer protection laws about defective automobiles.
Video Rating: 3 / 5